Rails Test Prescriptions Blog

Keeping Your Application Healthy Since 2008

May 20, 2010: Fontastic

Book Status

Starting to sound repetitive. Still working on the Cuke chapter, this time focusing on cleaning up the parts where I recommend ways to use Cucumber. Still hoping for a beta early next week.

Other things

This week in Yehuda, there’s a very long article about text encodings and what problems they have, and in particular how Ruby’s implementation is shaped by the complicated relationship between Unicode and Japanese.

I’m not completely sure I endorse this mechanism for using models in migrations, but I’ll mention it in case it solves a problem for you.

Jake Scruggs, blogging up a storm, today on using code in interviews. This is something that seems to have come on very quickly as a best practice. In my (admittedly quick) job search in 2007, I was never asked to do this. By 2009, it was pretty common, and I had to do several code samples, either before or during interviews. (For Obtiva, I had to pair program with Dave Hoover. In Python. Which I hadn’t used seriously for about three years.)

Quick note on how to stub paperclip during testing to avoid dependencies on ImageMagick, which seems a noble goal.

Thoughtbot has a very nice article showing the implementation of search functionality.

Last but not least

Google WebFonts. Which seems to be a new, free, set of fonts that you can link to from your app, and just use. Not a huge selection at the moment, hopefully more coming.

2 responses to “May 20, 2010: Fontastic

  1. Frederick Polgardy May 20, 2010 at 10:03 am

    When I joined Obtiva, I pair programmed in Ruby, and it really was my first time – except for going through a 20 minute tutorial a week earlier. I was a Pythonista at the time, so most of the concepts transfer over. I actually do think programming in a new language can be a great interview experience – you get to gauge the person’s comfortability stepping outside their comfort zone, and see the way they pick up new idioms in the language. Of course, you can’t throw them into the fire.

    • noelrap May 20, 2010 at 10:14 am

      Oh, I thought it was a great exercise. It was pretty clear to me that Dave was mostly interested in how I approached the problem rather than my up-to-the second Python knowledge. I actually had a lot of fun with it.

Leave a Reply

